Yamaha SCR950 Forum banner
1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
81 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Here are the pix of the Crank Case Vent - UNI filter UN 124-
Solution Bypassed the air filter port used to recirculate the nasty oil vapor / water and gases coming off the motor back into the motor aka Emissions

Now the vapor vents to atmosphere... much better on the fuel injection, valves and pistons..

Attachments

·
Registered
1,238 Posts
I know a lot of Buell owners do this mod, but often re-route the breather to a catch-can down below the primary drive or similar......quite often it was something like JD can, cos they’re, you know, cool.......

Tell me - what’s to stop the left side of your engine (or your left leg) getting covered in a fine mist of oil, should any ever be chucked out?

I considered this mod when fitting my K&N too, but admit I was a little frightened off by some scare stories that it can actually play havoc with your crankcase pressure. Gotta admit, I’ve no experience of this, and I know loads of people vent to atmosphere, but it was just as simple to hook it up as K&N instructed too, so I went with that option.
Ben

Reactions: PNWSCR

·
Registered
1,238 Posts
Also, re-looking at your pictures.....it looks a little like a phallus hanging there.......#justsaying
Ben

·
Registered
81 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
Yeah... maybe a little oil mist to go along with the bugs and road grime. With this set up: the crank case vent hose is routed over the top of the rear head and then down to the filter which will catch most of the ultra fine mist. If she is barfing massive amounts of oil out of the vent there are bigger problems - like over filled oil / ring failure etc

I have vented all my bikes / hot rods this way - 1000cc inline four bangers - one lunger thumpers and my big bore HD’s Big Block Chevy V8’s... see attached (some have even had a pump to create positive pressure to reduce blow by)