Yamaha SCR950 Forum banner
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello everybody. I just bought a SCR950 (a service bike from the dealer) and started searching for some help online, regarding all the usual stuff, namely the eventual issues and particularities regarding this model.

I’m from Portugal, and I’ve been riding for more then 30 years and have had many bikes over the course of my riding life. The SCR is going to be friends with my Supertenere and my 18yo XT600e, and was bought as a bike for short (and long?) trips around Europe.

To start of my request for help, can someone help me and tell me their experience regarding the fuel autonomy of the bike. In my calculations, and having a 13liter tank it should do about 220/240 kms (the reserve light comes on about 180kms from full). Is that right in your experience? I’ve been extra careful but I’d like to know what is the experience of your guys (and girls) to figure out if I can go on longer trips without an issue (given the fact that it doesn’t have a fuel gauge).

Thank you in advance,

·
Registered
884 Posts
Welcome!

The fuel range you mention is about what I was getting so long as I kept the speeds at/below 105-110km/h.
The SCR seat is a common early modification. Complete aftermarket ones plus do-it-yourself cover & foam kits are available.
I have had good luck with Seat Concepts cover & foam kits on three bikes, now.

A Super Tenere, too? Cool!
I have a 2012 XTZ12BB, myself!

-eddie

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Thank you. For me, owning the two (the SCR and the xtz) is ideal! Im going to try and take the SCR on a 1000kms trip soon and figure out how to calculate the refuel necessities . I’ll try to fill up every 180/200 kms.

·
Super Moderator
1,310 Posts
Welcome fellow European!!

Check out this thread:

https://www.scr950forum.com/forum/1...sion/2745-how-far-have-you-gone-low-fuel.html